Globalization has no longer been a alienated term for students in the modern days as the international exchange programs are gregariously funded and heavy emphasis is put on attracting talents. Some assert that learners should travel and reside in a foreign country as a part of their school curriculums for a short time in order to absorb the local language and culture. However, I personally believe that this initiative incurs more drawbacks than it seems and there is more than one alternative for this.

On the one hand, it is evident that students who fully submerge themselves in a multinational education environment develop holistically, both from the command of the language as well as the deep understanding of local norms and culture. Those learners have no other choice but to overcome the language barrier and step out of their comfort zones to experience everything to the fullest, which, in turn, equip them with a multi-angle perspective and real life lessons. On top of that, the proliferation of consulting services that guide and support oversea students with scholarships and first-day accommodation also help to make studying aboard more accessible.

On the other hand, the program are not for everyone, especially the underprivileged who are struggling to make a living, let alone studying abroad. An rough estimate of 50.000 dollars per semester in the US including expenses would ward off anyone who are not leading a lavish lifestyle. Furthermore, even if the aspiring learner managed to collect enough for the tuition fee, the cost of living would be undeniably challenging for the most unyielding and resilient ones. Beside that, with the advent of the internet and e-learning, getting to know a language and finding out about cultural aspects no longer require physical interaction. Duolingo is a prime example for disruptive technology that help to transform language learning into an enjoyable journey which is always one-click away on your mobile phone.

In conclusion, despite the prominent benefit of oversea study, students should have second thought on the foreseeable challenges as well as more cost-saving alternatives.