The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on the British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

it is stated that apart from private cars, other forms of transportation had better be promoted, and international regulations should be enacted to take control of car ownership and use. While I agree with the statement, I strongly believe that citizens should be allowed to use their private vehicles when needed.

On the one hand, people switching to utilizing public transport is of the essence, for the reason that infrastructure in cities is not designed to meet overwhelming traffic load. In particular, traffic congestion is among the most problematic issues in urban areas, which is seemingly unsolvable. Moreover, fumes and gases discharged by automobiles result in severe air pollution, causing respiratory diseases among city residents namely pneumonia and asthma. For example, in Vietnam, a nation where cars have not yet been widely manufactured, imported automobiles are taxed up to 200% for reduction of traffic volume.

On the other hand, people are well-advised to commute by their own cars when necessary because of the inconvenience caused by public transport. In other words, buses and trains are not suitable for certain brackets of people such as the old, the handicapped, pregnant women or infants. Furthermore, commuting time of public transport is considerably longer than that of private vehicles; therefore, unpunctuality at workplace occurs on a regular basis when officers or workers exploit public transit service.

In conclusion, it is of the utmost importance for citizens to travel by buses and trains to eliminate traffic jam and air contamination in big metropolises; however, private vehicles should also be used in some specific cases when speed is essential