Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and

large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or

disagree?

Recent environmental calamities such as wildfires, mass extinction of various species have raised great concern over whose responsibilities to take on these planetary tragedies. Whereas some people hold firm belief that only the authorities and large companies are able to shift the situation, I would argue that the accumulation of individuals' actions is also as of importance, which I will elaborate further.

Firstly, one of the main factors for the worsening of our habitats is the pollution caused by waste from human activities. Plastic trash, for instance, which makes up more than half of the total urban waste, causes long-term contamination to the water cycle as it needs years to fully dissolve. This man-made material pollution alone is the primary suspect of water shortage in various regions in the world. Hence, we're the direct victims of our wrongdoings. By enhancing the awareness of the surroundings, everyone can be a vanguard in reducing their carbon footprints, which in return will help to ease and reverse the current environment effects.

On the other hand, despite the legislative power harnessed by the government and big enterprises, that most of the "green" initiatives have failed due to the lack of participants and volunteers emphasizes the pivotal role of individuals in saving the ecosystems. My local community proves to be a good example as they proactively took action to clean up the polluted rivers when the authorities has no proper directive about it for a long time.

In conclusion, lawmakers and authoritative figures can not replace the role of the citizens and the people in the movement of protecting and coping with environmental problems.