The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on the British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Nowadays, problems envolving the number of vehicles are an important challeng to the government and to the society. Some people support that laws to control the car use and the propriety of the vehicles should be discussed in addition to a public transport and other alternatives of transportation. However, other people believe that kind of legislation should be a problem to the citizens as a type of imposition for them. The purpose of this essay is discuss both approaches about and show a position about the topic.

On the one hand, the number of vehicles in the UK are a problem, mainly to cities as London, for example. Considering that, the majority of the society agree that new laws should be implemented in order to avoid issues as traffic jam and air pollution. An example is the possibility to allow just some cars in specific and controlled zones. According to my point of view, I tend to agree that some solutions should be taken and an alternative for that limitation is the public transport, as the underground and the buses, but also bikes, car sharing and even apps such as Uber.

On the other hand, laws to control the use and the ownership of cars could be an attack against people freedom. For many people this kind of point should be considered.

In conclusion, considering all the points, we believe that a strong but possible legislation to control car ownership and use combined with alternative forms of transport should be implemented and incentivated by the government and the society.