Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed for some that students should be obligated to develop unpaid activities during the High School as part of their curriculum. However, I tend to desagree with this approach. The purpose of this essay is discuss that position and gives another possibility to manage the issue.

On the one hand, social and community services give to students the opportunity to develop skills and abilities, which could be extremely relevant for theis careers in the future. Moreover, this kind of activity give them notions of humanity as empaty, for example. Nowadays, empaty is fundamental to live in a better society. Another positive aspect provided for that experience is the responsability. Responsability is a competence to be improved during this period of life. On the other hand, I support the oppinion that the unpaid community service should not be a duty, but an option. For this reason, community services should be an altervative for students who see the benefits mentioned above and want to do that as a voluntary work.

In Brazil, the majority of the community services are developed by unpaid organizations and it is not a compulsory part of high school. The purposes of the services vary. For instance, some people work to improve the enviroment with recycle programs. Anothers examples to mention are projects related to education. In this case, the tasks performed could be teaching poor children or people from other countries, often refugees, who need help to learn Portuguese and improve their lives in Brazil.

In conclusion, unpaid community services such as working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children should be offered by the school system as voluntaries activities. In addition, the role to develop this sort of service should be developed by the government.