The qualities that help people reach success in modern life cannot be learned in university or other academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is hard to overstate the importance of schooling: it decides what career you will have, what kind of person you will be and what type of life you will lead. However, in the era of everchanging world that put heavy emphasis on being pragmatic, some are questioning whether or not, being solely dependent on formal schooling equip people with necessary skillsets and tools for their future endeavors. I, from my own experience, hold firm belief that learning in modern days require more than just ordinarily attending classes and finishing assigned homework.

It is evident that school curriculums are constantly improved and re-structured in the pursuit for practicality as well as efficiency. For instance, students in Viet Nam, annually, are introduced with new teaching methodologies and newly innovated agenda that allot more time and lessons to on-the-field experiments and hand-on laboratory classes. However, due to the fact that this process of altering the system is rigorous and time-consuming, people start to look for a new approach.

With the advent of the internet, among all the new disruptive technologies rise a new platform of future open education: forums and blogs. Knowledge, from the dawn of time, has always revolved around the virtue of sharing and reinforcing that in the new era of virtual platforms that provide incessant means of publicizing your ideas, thrives as never seen before. Medium and Quora are prime examples of open knowledge base that people can learn and satisfy their curiosity with little to no cost

On top of that, in order to reach height in their career, job seekers need to be accustomed to thinking out of the box and make good use of the creativity to overcome obstacles. Reasons for this prioritization of creativeness are multifarious but the most common one is to blame on the glaring dominance of artificial intelligence over the job market. Traditional professionals such as sale clerks, accountants and farmers are being gradually replaced with automation and human-like robots, which in turn makes jobs that are humanly capable the only viable options for fresh graduates.

In conclusion, even though academic institutions still play an important role in teaching fundamentals to students, it is shifting toward proactive learning that requires learners to make good use of tools and platforms provided as the result of the advances of technologies.