Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A workplace is a mixture of people of different sexes, cultures and backgrounds. It is often argued that maintaining a healthy bond with colleagues is not necessary because the main aim of every individual is to concentrate on work. I completely do not opine with this statement as I think, the overall development of a company depends on the work culture.

Firstly, it is not a single person who can do wonders. In order to take a business forward, the whole team needs to put their fullest efforts into the work. So, a healthy relationship is needed to help each other in times of need. For example, many top Multi-national companies will take their teams to corporate lunches, outings once in a month to develop the rapport within the group. However, while many others support the statement of individual focus, I incline towards the view of collaboration in the work.

Moreover, the feeling of loneliness does not contribute much to the success of the person himself and the company. A workplace consists of people of different ages and everyone needs mentoring in different stages when working together. So, the feeling of moving together is essential in teamwork rather than focusing alone. For instance, every employee wants to work in a place where there is no bossism and the feeling of oneness exists.

Though the argument that says our main motive is to indulge in work individually seems plausible, with scrutiny I feel that better bonding between the teams creates wonders and reduce the feeling of loneliness and helps in getting mentored when needed.