Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? How can we solve this problem?

It is observed that huge amounts of food are being wasted on a daily basis all around the world. This phenomenon can be attributed to several factors, and this essay will propose some viable measures to remedy it.

Two main reasons are to blame for the incessant problem of food waste. Chief of these is the fact that many customers have a tendency to overorder food at restaurants. As a result, they may fail to finish their food and leave behind leftovers, which are often trashed rather than given to impoverished people. Added to this is that many food providers such as farmers, supermarkets and restaurants tend to miscalculate demands and, in turn, produce or supply too much food compared to consumers’ needs. Consequently, a large proportion of the food is rendered expired and inedible before they can be sold to shoppers.

There are a number of ways the food waste crisis can be addressed. To begin with, food services should employ business experts to help calculate the exact amount of food that should be produced. They should also be encouraged to donate the leftover food from productions and orders to individuals who are struggling with hunger and poverty, rather than simply dispose of such food. In addition, the government should conduct awareness-raising campaigns and disseminate advertisements to make the public cognizant of the dire impact of food waste on our lives. This way, people will be given the incentives to think twice before they purchase food and try their best to finish their meals.

In summary, the causes of the current issue of food waste are overordering and miscalculations about consumers’ demand, and the solutions lie in hiring professionals, donating food to people below the poverty line and raising awareness among the public.