EXAMINATIONS ONLY SUIT PEOPLE WHO ARE GOOD AT TAKING EXAMS. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement? Compare the benefits of examinations with other types of assessment.

Exams have long been considered an effective method of assessing the knowledge and the ability of students. However, these days, many people claim that examinations suit people who are good at taking exams; therefore, other types of evaluations such as presentations or work projects should be applied in replace of exams. From my point of view, I strongly agree with this idea due to the disadvantages of tests and the merits of other assessments I will state in this essay.

Exams are not effective methods of assessing the knowledge of students as some people claim they are because students can treat during examinations. Consequently, some pupils who study day and night may not achieve their goals, meanwhile, some students can get nearly full points due to treating though they have adopted no knowledge or skills. This means exams can evaluate students' abilities wrongly; also, tests usually bring anxiety and stress to students. As schools and universities pay great attention to exam results, students have to strive for the highest positions in the rank to get to renowned schools and colleges. As a result, the competitiveness increases greatly and puts pupils under such pressure that they can get mental disorders, some may even commit suicide. In a word, examinations are not competent enough to judge the amount of knowledge and skills students have acquired due to their detriments.

Giving short presentations is a great method to test students' real abilities. Pupils need to learn to conduct researches, evaluate results, and consider examples in order to prepare for their presentations. They can improve interpersonal skills as well as meticulousness during the process of making a plan for a speech. Therefore, students can not only be evaluated accurately but also develop necessary skills for their future. This way of assessment definitely outweigh examinations thanks to its accuracy, flexibility, and innovativeness.

In conclusion, tests may not be eliminated immediately but reduced gradually in the light of their inaccuracy as well as negative impacts on students. Therefore, other assessments, for example, giving presentations or doing work projects can be applied widely to judge students' acquisition of knowledge and skills.