It is indubitable that we are heading towards a graying society. The life spans have increased, but along with it the problems if elderly related to health and social isolation have also seen a surge. This essay intends to analyse the reasons of this phenomenon and also suggest ways to mitigate the problem.

The main reason of social isolation of the elderly is that they find it difficult to let go. The elderly have held the reins of the household for a long time, and they want to keep that authoritative power. But, their children and grandchildren donnot want to be held back all the time because of their orthbox customs. So, they start ignoring them, which leads them to be secluded. If they spend time with youngsters, be flexible and adopt the newer ways of life, they would be more accepted in society.

Secondly, the health of the aging population is a major concern. Our body is just a machine and just like any machine needs lubrication from time to time to function well, the body machine also needs that oil. Exercise acts as the lubricant, which can keep the problems of the elderly away. The common problems faced by the elderly are hypertension, arthrists and diabetes. At a young age, is not much neended, but as the body machine grows older, it needs daily exercise. The elderly who do not exercise daily, suffer from these problems, which are further worsened because of thr financial constraints of the elderly, who are no longer working and earnings.

Simple steps can helps to ameliorate the problem. One thing that we have to accept gracefully is that we cannot run away from the problems of the elderly. We have to face them, and that too on a war footing, otherwise the situation is going to worsen and would be a big burden on the government. The elderly themselves have to plan for their retired life well in advance. They should try to catch up with the latest happenings and learn the use of latest technology, which can help them to be better accepted by the young people. Daily exercise should be a manadatory part of their day. The government should set up hoghly subsidized gyms for the elderly, along with free computer classes.

To conculde, the elderly themselves can alleviate the problems of the elderly, such as loneliness and failing health, to large extent, but the government can also take some steps.