Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What
can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?
Humans are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but we can also take
steps to reduce the damage that we are causing to the planet. This essay will discuss
environmental problems and the measures that governments and individuals can take
to address these problems.
Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. Gas
emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming,
which may have a devastating effect on the planet in the future. As the human
population increases, we are also producing ever greater quantities of waste, which
contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans.
Governments could certainly make more effort to reduce air pollution. They could
introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies to use renewable
energy from solar, wind or water power. They could also impose ‘green taxes’ on drivers
and airline companies. In this way, people would be encouraged to use public transport
and to take fewer flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions.
Individuals should also take responsibility for the impact they have on the environment.
They can take public transport rather than driving, choose products with less packaging,
and recycle as much as possible. Most supermarkets now provide reusable bags for
shoppers as well as ‘banks’ for recycling glass, plastic and paper in their car parks. By
reusing and recycling, we can help to reduce waste.
In conclusion, both national governments and individuals must play their part in looking
after the environment.