The exposure of international media such as films, TV and magazines has impacts on local culture. What do you think of the impacts have been? Do you agree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that many influences on cultural identity stem from the media globalization such as films, TV, and magazines. While I accept that there are some drawbacks of the widespread media, it is not to say that it has no redeeming feature.

The more popular the media is the more effects it causes. Global media has fundamentally changed not only the prejudices about women but also their role in the culture. In some undeveloped nations which disregard female, were it not for the penetration of the television and magazines about female power, women would not be able to break the glass ceiling and make their job prospects brighter. However, the exposure of the media can menace the dialect of the local community. Because of the prevalent use of English and other lingua francas in the magazines and films, the locals alter their languages to adapt the world, which destroys the indigenous vernacular.

On the one hand, the ubiquity of the media can be extremely positive. It is said that the media has reduced the gap between men and women in the community, which enables women to achieve success in life as the men . For instance, Ellen’s show is an ample evidence to illustrate that women can become the host of a TV show, which was the man in the past. On the other hand, the media is a threat to the multicultural society and cultural mosaic . There is a considerable evidence suggesting that the newspapers and television have homogenized the world by encouraging people to use only English and adopt the Western lifestyles.

In conclusion, there are many impacts of the media on the local culture and the advantages and the disadvantages of the exposure are equally the same.