Famous actors and some professional sports people can command a very high salary. Some people think that this is fair because salaries should be based on people’s gifts and talents. Others, however, believe that a person’s salary should be based on their contribution to society. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is true that whether it is fair or unfair for the income of celebrities or several athletes is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the latter, the former is much more preferable.

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons to think that the salary of well-known people and sports experts is unfair for other trades. Firstly, celebrities are not regarded as residents contributing to their society as their jobs seem not to have a direct influence on their community. In the era of global concerns such as environment or trade wars, the jobs towards entertainment purposes are not highly appreciated. Secondly, there are several professional sportsmen who are easily lured to be using doping in competition, and this does no good for people’s point of view. Finally, the more famous influencers are, the more attention their mistakes draw from the community, hence they could be assessed more rigorously. For example, only when the faults are made from celebrities, will they go viral rather than from normal residents.

On the other hand, others would argue that these occupations deserve to require an incredibly decent income. The prominent justification is that celebrities bring about lots of inspiration for society, especially for the young generations. It is undeniable that the youngsters are likely to pay attention to influencers that enhance the youth’s admiration. Furthermore, there are also a lot of professional sportspeople that are role models of patience and overcoming the sufferings. There is indeed a huge source of dreams and aspirations for the youth generations that comes from some athletes. Last but not least, to become a celebrity or athlete takes a lot of time and effort to deal with all the scandals that definitely could make you fail. It is indeed not easy for everyone to become a famous person or an expert in any sports. For instance, any famous people always have to learn how to accept and overcome tons of bad things although they are not the truth.

In conclusion, for the reason mentioned above, although some people do not have a good perspective of renowned people or professional athletes with respect to their salary, it seems to me that they deserve to gain decent income.