A few language are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that just some languages are spoken by a majority of the Earth’s population whereas others are being left behind as the world becomes a homogenous, global society. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, the expansion of some dominant languages could bring several benefits to individuals and society as a whole. As communication has been immensely improved, trading between countries will be facilitated, which leads to a higher GDP for nations. Moreover, the dominance of some so-called international language will be likely to drive citizens, especially young generations, to learn a different language in addition to their mother tongue. This would greatly beneficial for them since the exposure to different languages and cultures will broaden their horizons and help them have a more objective outlook on the world.

On the other hand, the decline in the use of a language could have a negative impact on the language-speaking communities. Firstly, language is of great cultural importance. Therefore, when a language is dying out, so too does the community’s culture and heritage. For example, written documents such as stories or myths will not be understood by the future generations or perhaps the elderly are dying without passing on knowledge to their posterity. This will lead to a permanent disconnection between the young generations with their ancestors, thus a lack of a sense of identity would be inevitable.

In conclusion, while it is worrying that many languages are on the brink of extinction, the increasing popularity of others could be beneficial for society and individuals.