Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

A small number of languages have gained massive popularity in the world, namely Chinese, English and Spanish while many others are dying. I believe this trend was both negative and positive impacts.

Regarding positive effects, as fewer languages are spoken in more countries, international communication is eased, which helped boost multilateral trade and cultural exchange. Time for translation and interpretation activities is reduced and misinterpretations can be avoided. Furthermore, by acquiring languages which are commonly used in business, science and technology, researchers, academics and entrepreneurs from less developed countries can accelerate the process of learning from more developed countries. For example, Singapore and India achieved such incredible growth partly by making English their official language.

Despite the benefits, this trend has potential drawbacks. It took a country thousands of years to develop its own language, hence it is sad to see this integral part of a civilisation disappear. If a Vietnamese person in the future has to resort to translation to understand literacy classics written in their own language, it would be a worst/pessimistic scenario as they fail their own mother tongue. More importantly, cultural diversity will be lost altogether with the disappearance of minority languages. Folk songs, for instance, can hardly survive if future generations are no longer able to read the lyrics and understand their meanings.

In conclusion, though I believe the trend is inevitable in the era of globalisation, every country needs to have measures in place to protect their cultural identity of which languages is an integral part.