More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that obesity gains more popularity in today’s society and raising the price of unhealthy foods can be a solution for this proclivity. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely agree with the idea that increasing the price of greasy foods is one of the solutions to the obesity problem. The first prominent justification is that if raising the expenditure of unhealthy foods is applied, it will decrease the demand for them which prevents the cause of obesity. Secondly, because of higher price of fattening foods than healthy ones, it attracts people to spend more budget on purchasing healthy foods. Finally, there would be a case that increasing the price of unhealthy food is not only affecting end-users but also other distributions in the catering industry. For example, HoReCa, an abbreviation of hotel, restaurant and café, is a core distribution channel which will be heavily impacted by this policy.

However, I believe that there are other actions that governments could take to address the problem described above. The first solution is imposing on unhealthy materials which are used to make greasy foods. The second solution is that the more budget for promoting healthy food industry such as increasing the subsidies for farmers with the quality standard is spent, the more fatty foods are created. Last but not least, forbidding the advertisement for unhealthy foods aiming at children is one of the solutions to this problem. For instance, as soon as the policy of banning adverts in America was introduced, it helped decline the obesity rates of children aged 3 to 11 by 18%.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that pushing up the cost of consuming fatty foods can be a solution for increasing obese residents, I believe this is not the only remedy for this inclination.