Few would dispute the need to pursue an activity or hobby outside work. The old English adage 'All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy, ' is an illustration of how well -ingrained such a belief is, in society. However, despite the universal acknowledgement of the value of outside work activities, as a society we are failing to dedicate time to such pursuits. Whether due to pressure of work or a preference for more passive activities, such as watching TV, we are neglecting hobbies to the detriment of both the individual and society.

Often a corollary of failing to engage in a hobby, is an associated negative impact on physical health. Having an active hobby like sport or dance , is vastly more beneficial to health than opting to watch TV or surf the Internet. However, hobbies also serve to promote mental health. A hobby does not have to exercise the body to be of benefit to the individual.

Being able to take the focus off work and channel frustrations and stress into a creative or absorbing occupation helps let off steam and results in a much happier individual. The beneficial effect on the individual also has a knock-on effect at work, too. Less stressed employees make for better colleagues and hence an all-round improved working environment. In addition, employees who pursue a hobby have been shown to be far more proactive in the workplace. Employees actively engaged in a hobby are more likely to be better at creative problem-solving and to help out colleagues, according to a study by Professor Eschelman of San Francisco State University.

Finally, pursuing a hobby may have unexpected benefits, particularly for the individual concerned. Many an entrepreneur has made a career out of their hobby. The dedication and absorption required to engaged in a pastime can often be successfully channelled into a business. There is no better guarantee for success than to enjoy the job you do. So taking up a hobby is a win -win situation for both the individual and for society as a whole