Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer-based subjects instead.

Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Many people believe that IT-based courses at universities and high schools are becoming highly popular among students and that there is a substitution in the number of the other subjects learners toward this area of study. In this essay, I would argue that this development, ascribed to a host of factors, is likely to be positive.

Several justifications are discussing how this trend could be beneficial. Firstly, plenty of enterprises are employing workers with expertise in IT and similar computer-based subjects, which provides plenty of job opportunities and future career progression for the graduates. Browsing around the Internet, it is now not difficult for us to come across advertisements, ranging from Amazon to Microsoft, recruiting people with computing degrees. Therefore, while pursuing a career in Physics or Biology seems to put us at risk of being unemployed, computer-based subject scholars are likely to have better job security. Secondly, focusing on this area of study could lead to new inventions and technological breakthroughs, contributing to the future prosperity of our country.

However, we should consider that the rise of AI and the specialized area of knowledge, in general, are not that surprising and novel, provided with how ubiquitous and omnipresent the computing industry are in our daily life. The chances are that the influence of technology on us, combined with our dependence on the algorithm and the automation industry has, in the long-term, shaped our way of thinking and attracted us to study technology. In addition, science courses are primarily theoretical, which have been perceived as tedious and unappealing. According to some people, scientists such as Einstein, despite their high level of intellect, are rather unglamorous and lack self-care ability. This has made us form a negative impression about these subjects.

In conclusion, given the fact that there has been a change of interest from science towards IT and computing areas of study, which are associated with various reasons, I expect this to be a positive effect, based on the advantages of learning this.