Film is a less important form of art than literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although film has played an important role in society, many people think that it is not as significant as literature or painting. From my perspective, film has the same artistic value as those forms of art and in this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples.

On the one hand, painting and literature have a much longer history than movies and have represented the cultures of many countries for decades. People from all over the world pay a visit to different nations to explore the beauty and the history behind these works of art. For instance, visiting the famous painting of the Monalisa is a dream of many people in the world. Moreover, literature and painting can be interpreted in a variety of ways, most of which are dependent on personal preferences. That is to say, the audience can give meaning to the piece based on their imagination, while the message from the film can only be explained from the producer’s point of view.

On the other hand, film has contributed to the growth of arts. Based on my knowledge, youngsters prefer modern and sophisticated technology, which means that traditional art does not attract their interest. For example, fewer people attend an art gallery because it is boring, however, many young people are more interested in going to the cinema merely to see the visual effect of films. What’s more, unlike a drawing or a novel, a film is the labor of hundreds of artists and technicians and it is rated as the highest form of entertainment today.

In conclusion, it is true that film is as considerable as literature and painting, so it needs to be appreciated like others.