What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

Nowadays, children spend lots of time sitting in front of the television. Some think that this is forming a bad habit for the young generation. However, there are both pros and cons to doing these indoor activities. In this essay, I'll discuss all perspectives and try to come up with some conclusions.

Let’s begin by looking at the benefits of watching TV. One of the primary advantages is that television can be a source of entertainment and learning. There are many programs available that can help children broaden their horizons. These programs are also capable of developing positive values in them such as friendship, solidarity, work, effort... Secondly, shows can be a great way for your youngster to unwind. While parents often believe that children are stress-free, they might experience anxiety when they are away from their parents for child care, when they lose someone important to them or when they notice significant changes at home.

Turning to the other side of the argument, the potential to create physical issues is a major problem. We might develop bodily difficulties as a result of the amount of time we spend in front of the television like difficulties falling asleep, disturbed sleep patterns, and other health issues. In addition, long-term exposure may have an impact on children’s studies. Parents should control the time that their child spends in front of the television, as it can negatively affect school performance. Children frequently spend long periods of time without supervision, forgetting that they have schoolwork to complete, or do not get enough sleep because they stay up late watching television.

Having looked at both sides, it is better for parents to have parental advice on what their children should watch and restrict the amount of time they spend viewing. Personally, I believe that the advantages of viewing television outweigh any disadvantages.