At first, the story seems to convey a normal love story that is similar to many other romantic stories. However, inside the story hidden another message of love- love for family. Daniel, the male protagonist, like many other Asian Americans had to live up to his parents’ expectation which is to attend a medical university, but in fact, he just wanted to be a poet. Likewise, Natasha also had problems with her father, the one who had made a big mistake that led to the deportation of her family. The conflict between the protagonists and their families seemed to be unsolvable. Nonetheless, the love for family defeated every trouble when in the end Daniel became a writer as his wish, and the upset that Natasha had toward his father dissolved. Was it not for love, Daniel’s parents wouldn’t have allowed him to study literature, and was it not for love, Natasha couldn’t have normalized the relationship between her and her father. Consequently, in “ The sun is also a star”, love for family was ingeniously hidden behind the normal concept of love thereby