Food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilisers and better machinery However some of the methods used to do this may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities To what extent do you agree o

it is true that science and fertilizers are conducive to the growth of food production and the decline of price. however, many hold that the utilisation of the inventions may have negative effects on human physical condition and local communities. I partly agree with this point of view.

On the one hand, machinery and fertilizers have improved people's health. Firstly, the reduced number of people who are starving is an enormous benefit. Fewer people are hungry than ever before, and this is a direct result of fertilizers and large-scale machine farming. Additionally, economists in the early 1900s believed that food production worldwide could support 2 billion people. Thanks to fertilizers, it is now thought we could feed 10 billion, and this number may increase as technology improves. Furthermore, farming could be done on a larger scale with fewer people with modern science, and that allows more people to work in other fields such as scientists and teacher, which helps our society thrive.

While I agree that fertilizers and better machinery are essential in the surge of food production, they also harm people's health and the community. First of all, cancer rates have increased dramatically in 50 years. Many doctors and researchers believed that the chemicals used to grow and produce food is a significant cause. Farmers have even bugun using producers of chemical fertilizers. Secondly, when people get cancer and become more obese, this puts a considerable burden on the healthcare system. A significant reason for health expenses is the eating pf processed food which are cheaper than simple food. Never in history we have seen the poor so much fatter than the affluent. Machines have made processed food less expensive than genuine food.

In conclusion, there is no possibilty of removing the benefits recived from fertilizers and machinery. However, I do hope that we can rely on them less and less and start making healthy food that are cheaper and more available. We have achieved great quantity, now we need great quality.