Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree and disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, it is fairly prevalent in manifold tourism spots that foreign visitors are bound to pay high prices for souvenirs, goods in there. Some people consider that tourists from overseas should be charged more than local visitors, and I entirely disagree with this idea.

The argument in favor of higher prices for foreign visitors often occurs due to the viewpoint that people from other countries gain more income than the locals, and the difference of the currency unit; however, this is not always accurate. International visitors come from many countries in the world, in which there are developing countries with great earnings, but a lot of people’s countries are less modern or even poorer. That is the reason why this is not equal to everyone. Additionally, travel is about creating a mutual understanding between people of different cultures, backgrounds and faiths all over the world, which is also a chance for locals to start relationships and have more opportunities. For instance, Ho Chi Minh mausoleum, a famous historical attraction, makes no charges for visitors, who are able to learn more about Vietnamese history and the life of one of the greatest person in here. This is also a method to promote the historical beauty of Vietnam to foreign people.

If traveler from other countries realize that they are being ripped off more than the indigenous visitors, a bad impression about the locals and these attractions will be embedded in their mind. To take the foods in Vietnam as an example, the price of a box of shaking strawberries with pepper and salt sold to the foreign visitors in a tourism spot could be double compared with local visitors. As a result, this leads to the decline in the number of visitors coming to that place, so that locals could gain much lesser money from their main jobs. With the decrease in income, those cultural and historical attractions cannot be covered maintenance fees, which results in the regional economic crisis and poorer living conditions and facilities.

In conclusion, I suppose that the government and countries should make effort to attract and promote their fascinating cultural and historical spots to the foreign visitors, and it is not sensible to make them pay higher prices than the local visitors.