Formal exams are used to assess student at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by school and universities? What are other types of assessments are possible?

Generally speaking, most of educational institutions organize formal evaluation to measure their student progress. This essay will describe it is main reason as well as suggest other alternative assessment methods.

To start with, it is generally accepted that the formal examination, which is conducted by schools and universities, has no reason but to measure the progress of the student. This is due to the fact that such assessment will enable the school to determine whether their apprentices are able to meet the instructional objectives or they need more lessons before taking a step further to the higher level of education. For instance, many schools organize written examination to acquire grades which represent student achievement.

Although many educational firms apply paper based evaluation in the end of every semester, I believe there are other alternative methods that worth considered to apply for student evaluation. Such methods include direct observation assessment and face to face interviews. Direct observation is considered one of effective method for assessing the progress since it will enable the teacher to engage with the learners and acquire direct understanding about them. On the other hand, interview assessment, although it requires a bit longer time than paper exam, it is very useful if the institution would like to measure the level of confidence of learners understanding on particular subject.

Hence, formal assessment is undoubtedly necessary to apply in every educational institution. However, it is suggested that schools and universities should organise more than one evaluation method to gain relevant understanding about their learner development.