Fresh water is a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, increasing demand has made it a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand? What measures should governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Nowadays due to the shortage of fresh water in some places, the increasing need for water resources has become a stumbling global problem to be tackled with. There are several reasons resulting in this and some solutions have to be taken by people and government.

On the one hand, the growing population should be responsible for this problem. As the population has rapidly grown In recent years, the demand for water has been enlarged accordingly, especially in some big cities around world, seriously resulting the lack of water sources. Furthermore, people require high demand of fresh water in our daily life, such as take a shower, do a laundry, clean the room. Also those who pursue the high-quality life need advanced facilities equipped with water resource,like garden and swimming pool, stimulating the demand for water. On the other hand, increasing water consumption in agriculture and factories is another salient reason. Both are expanded with large amounts of water to provide food and industrial goods for a growing population. For example, plenty of water is used for cooling equipment and source material in industries and irrigating land and feeding livestock in farming.

Therefore, government should has the obligation to intervene and takes the steps combat this problem. Firstly, regulators should expand the publicity to improve the awareness of population. Secondly, Formulating rules for water conservation can fine factories and farmings for wasting and polluting water source. Thirdly, more water can be declined by the way of sustainable development. For instance, sewage treatment and purification seawater. As for people, we can form the good habit of saving water to recycle the water consumption. For example, the water for washing vegetables can be used to flush the toilets.

In conclusion, considering the deteriorating water crisis, it is urgent for us to reduce water consumption and conserve freshwater resources. several measures mentioned can be used for reference.