Many people argue that the expenditure on research for a new planet such as Mars to live on should be increased as it is more and more challenging for humans to sustain life on Earth. Although this idea is reasonable for some reason, I hold a belief that other measures such as allocating money to tackle environmental problems are more practical.

On the one hand, it’s undeniable that Earth has become an unsuitable place to live. One of the most serious problems is the depletion of natural resources on Earth. With the rapid increase in populations and human exploitation, resources are on the verge of running out. For example, according to the survey conducted by Forbes in 2021, the world has lost one-third of its forest due to deforestation which humans are the main culprit. With the explosion of population, the demand for food grows sharply so that more and more forests are cut off for agricultural purposes to fulfil all the needs. Also, the illegal logging phenomenon also increases which is the main reason cause forest degradation.

However, I believe that investing more funds in exploring other planets to live in is impractical as it is really hard for humans to find a similar planet to Earth. Also, these kinds of projects cost exorbitant expensive so it’s not worth spending money on these plans. Instead of that, the government should allocate more money to preserving and promoting sustainable resources and tackling environmental problems which are the two key factors to sustaining a better life on Earth. For instance, authorities should invest funds to encourage scientists to find and develop more renewable energy such as solar energy, and hydropower,.. which are not only sustainable but also environmentally friendly. Moreover, governments should also ban strict punishment on those who commit illegal exploitation to decrease the rate of environmental deterioration and find ways to decrease pollution in the city.

In conclusion, while some advocate prioritizing planet research, I believe that there are some appropriate measures regarding spending money on environmental projects and prohibiting illegal exploitation actions to mitigate the problem. Hopefully, with these measures, Earth will become a more desirable place to live.