As digital materials become increasingly prevalent, people wonder if nobody will purchase printed materials to read since they can read everything they like online for free. However, I don't agree with that.

Admittedly, reading materials in digital forms have serval advantages. The most important one is that they are easy to obtain from the Internet, which reduces the effort made to locate reading materials. For example, people can search the whole Internet for the books they want via a single unified entrance like Google. However, they have to spend more time and energy to find a paper version in the local libraries and book stores. Another merit that digital materials bring is that some of them can be downloaded without paying. Due to the relatively high price of printed newspapers and books, individuals with low income may find it difficult to purchase the reading materials they are interested in. Also, digital materials broaden people's horizons by enabling them to read newspapers or books from geographically distant regions.

On the other hand, there are reasons why printed materials like newspapers or books are indispensable. First of all, people who are not familiar with information technology may have difficulties in searching and obtaining digital materials online, especially for the elderly. They rely on the paper version to fulfill their need for reading. In addition, not all digital materials are free on the Internet. Some free digital materials are even illegally uploaded, which violates the copyright of the authors. People should not encourage this kind of behavior because it will suppress the motivation of writers to create wonderful work. Moreover, printed materials are healthier for our eyes than digital ones as they can be read without a screen.

To summarize, while digital materials bring serval advantages to our lives, people will still buy and read printed ones because some unique traits can never be replaced by digital materials.