Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited.

To what extent do you agree?

These days, to serve the demands of civilization in the era of technology, a biological researcher tends to regard genetic engineering as one of the most crucial scientific fields. However, some world-renowned scientists now affirm that working with genes is a harmful on-going trend that should be eliminated.

The framework of the opposition side comes from their experience when working with genes. It lies in the fact that ADN or some other branched-chain acids, which constitute genes, are sensitive compounds. Moreover, biologists have proved that those compounds contain the blueprint of humans’ lives. Therefore, eccentric changes in the chain of ingredients can create novel organism species, which may develop hazardous diseases or unprecedented pandemic. In The United States, biological weapons are innovated based on the theory of Genetically Modified Organisms, so the US military can use those substances to invade other countries. In the Vietnam war, for instance, with the appearance of “Orange” toxic chemical pervaded by the US military, many people were harmed and become disabled.

However, it is undeniable that genetics engineering is the only way to develop medicine. Civilization, including biological development, is the process in which negative effects are inevitable, and people need to deal with the drawbacks to making the world better. Without the innovations of new generations of genetics as well as new kinds of bacteria, humans are probably unable to produce antibiotics or vaccines to cease the widespread health problems. Although genetics engineering may cause more new diseases, scientists can simultaneously find ways to treat them and even seek new methods to treat the initial widespread physical issues. Meanwhile, in the world without genetics developments, people cannot get access to state-of-the-art genetic laboratories to experiments and work with genes to solve burning issues.

To put it in a nutshell, I strongly agree that genetic engineering must be maintained and developed due to the demand of humans’ lives. However, the use of genes needs to be meticulous and resolute.