In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

These days, shopping is not only a daily housework, but also a hobby of the majority. The gists of this tendency, in fact, come from the ways people enjoy their lives. While some people think that it currently harms the living habits of communities, I would argue that regarding shopping as a hobby is a positive trend.

First of all, going to the markets can create pressure to family members. It lies in the fact that people want to do something that they love, instead of doing things that others let them do. Therefore, when we regard shopping as a daily task, people have the pressure to finish those tasks with tiredness and laziness. Meanwhile, regarding shopping as a hobby makes people feel free to swipe their credit card. They can make purchases only one time per week, in their spare time for instance, to buy enough weekly commodities and necessary products. Moreover, all family members can gather weekly to go shopping and have relaxing time together, instead of having to run errands alone under pressure.

Secondly, today is the era of technology so people have enough facilities for long-time preservation. Thanks to refrigeration, buying food everyday in order to eat fresh is no longer necessary. We are likely to preserve foods and perishables with the help of high-tech equipment. For instance, my family go to BigC supermarket together every weekend. We buy enough raw food for the following week as well as some essential household products. All these things can be preserved safely for weeks in refrigerators, and whenever we would want to use them, we can just put them in a microwave oven.

To put it in a nutshell, from making life more enjoyable and convenient to reducing pressure, the shopping trend nowadays can easily solve many problems and bring benefits to families.