Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children.

These days, vaccines are playing a pivotal role in preventing the widespread of humans’ diseases to keep children from potential health risks. Therefore, a debate rises from the proposal that national law require that parents immunize their children against common illnesses with vaccines. However, I personally think that this proposal is violating humans’ privacy rights and even creating negative impacts.

Firstly, parents now have the right to raise their children in any ways they deem right. When governments let parents immunize their children, they are likely to appropriate parental permission. In fact, parents know the family's historical health status, so they tend to more thoroughly understand their children's possibilities to catch diseases than governments do. Therefore, without the law of immunizing children, parents are able to estimate the chances of their children catching common diseases to decide whether to use the vaccines to control and even take care of their children’s health more meticulously.

Secondly, there are some reported cases where children are negatively affected after vaccination. It lies in the fact that vaccines, although are weakened agents unable to initiate infection, they can still put considerable pressure on humans’ immunization system. Those substances, in fact, go through babies’ internal organs and then accommodate them to cause side effects. In Vietnam, for instance, the use of vaccines makes children lacking antibodies die or deal with illnesses for a long time.

To put it in a nutshell, I think parents should not be made by law to immunize their children because of their parental rights and the unsure effects of vaccines.