Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern days, scientists are exerting genetic manipulation which becomes bitter controversy among people to serve our agriculture. Meanwhile, it is true to say ta this feat of science is likely to be considered beneficial for our life, some people opposed to this view.

Generally, it is alleged that gene engineering has a significant impact on agricultural revolution. While the harmful pests are developing resistance to a wide range of pesticides, the indiscrimination of which has proved to be counter productive and posed a threat to human health and environment, clearly genetic manipulation appears to be an advantageous strategy. As a matter of fact, genetic modification can help grow plants that produce poison to obnoxious pests. So that after boosting crop yield with this new method, the farmers now can reduce the risk of suffering chronic diseases and environmental pollution as well as improve the quality of their produce.

Conversely, it cannot be denied that changing gene may have unpredictable repercussion on human life. Actually, food which is applied genetic engineering not only probably causes serious disorders on human health such as cancer, allergic reaction but also creates new diseases in people. Additionally, the insects are likely to rapidly become immune to the new genetic manipulated crop, which can have a devastating effect on all manners of life, because this will contribute to the food shortage, epidemic and global crisis.

In sum, genetic modification has sparked vigorous debate among people. In fact, there are both advantages and disadvantages of the manipulation. It is my firm believe that before the widespread appliance of changing gene on which we need to attempt to conduct more researches so as to ensure that it is safe to human.