Give your opinion about the benefits and disadvantages of reading.

Nowadays, the public are more and more aware of the importance of reading. Most famous people such as successful businessmen or eminent scientists advise reading as much as possible due to its benefits. However, as well as positive effects, reading brings negative ones of which most people are ignorant.

Reading has long been regarded as one of the most beneficial activities for people as it helps readers enhance their knowledge and improve empathy. First, one may notices that when reading, people can see a wide range of strange words which they have never heard or seen before. As they need to understand the texts they are reading, they need to figure out the meanings of these words and by doing so, they expand their vocabulary. Reading obviously helps boost readers' glossary, especially children whose vocabulary size is developed based on mostly what they read. Furthermore, people usually read the latest news while others spend their free time on books. Both sources of information as stated are mostly authentic and valuable. For that reason, reading helps to enhance people's knowledge. Second, besides scientific ones, books whose aim is to improve the empathy of their readers. These books tell stories about people who have to deal with various difficulties to eventually have a happy life. They do not simply tell stories but somehow send messages to their readers about love, sympathy and many other emotions as well as attitudes that they should have. In short, reading teaches people almost everything that are crucial to them.

However, reading is not so beneficial as people think, it has no fewer disadvantages than advantages. When readers need knowledge about a field, they will find all possible sources to learn about it. However, the more they read, the more they are uncertain because not all sources have the same opinions and some even contain fake information, which is completely worthless and harmful. Some claim that the things that they read are all trustworthy and informative so reading is totally helpful. However, if they read more than they can remember, most of the knowledge that they read will soon be forgotten. As a consequence, they waste a great amount of time reading without memorizing. While some people read valuable information, some read worthless things. Nowadays, information is abundant, both useful and valueless. Many people make all attempts to read as much as possible without selecting the right one and eventually, they will obtain no knowledge and skills but worthless and inaccurate information. In a word, reading can waste people's time and effort if they can not decide what worths reading.

Reading is surely beneficial to everyone regardless of gender, nationality, and age. Although reading is widely approved, it can have bad effects on readers if they read too much valuable as well as worthless information.