Video games are very popular with children. However, some parents feel that video games can have a negative impact on their children, but others believe that they may have some positive effects. How do you feel about children playing video games? Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Besides televisions, video games are one of the most popular sources of entertainment, especially with children.

Like watching television. playing video games can affect children in both good and bad way.

The benefits of playing video games are absolutely undeniable. One can clearly see that video games are fun and entertaining. Nowadays, video games are no longer limited, they are abundant in all fields. For example, there are games designed for adults and children who enjoyed music but have no chances to obtain their musical instruments. Thanks to these games, players can listen to their favourite songs while playing games. This helps children feel relaxed after a weary day of studying. Video games are not only entertaining but educational as well. Many games are invented to train children in learning. To illustrate this, many video games are simple and they aim to guide children about 3 to 5 years old how to count or write and even learning foreign languages such as English or Chinese. Not only children at kindergarten are the beneficiaries of video games but teenagers as well. When playing video games, players need to move the computer mouse quickly as they have to finish tasks in the game. Therefore, they can improve their reaction to things that happen unexpectedly. Video games are downright helpful for children regardless of gender.

However, video games also pose risks to children due to their drawbacks. Playing video games too much can lead to various health problems, and they especially have atrocious effects on children's eyes. Some children may even addict to the games and thereby, have to suffer from mental illnesses. Some can develop hallucinations and even attempt to kill people for fear of being harmed, which are only their illusion. In addition, they have a tendency to avoid social communication which means they are timid and rarely talk, even with their friends or family members. Consequently, children isolate themselves from society and they will feel lonely and sorrowful for most of their life. More severely, children who spend most of their time playing video games without exploring the world may have to suffer from autism. In a word, video games hazardously affect its players if they do nothing but stick their eyes to the screens of computers or televisions to play games.

Video games have both positive and negative influences on children. People can neither boycott video games because of their disadvantages nor encourage playing video games for a long time for the reason that games are helpful. Parents should allow their children to play video games for a specific time, about 1 hour per day is sufficient, to make the best use of video games.