Video games are very popular with children. However, some parents feel that video games can have a negative impact on their children, but others believe that they may have some positive effects. How do you feel about children playing video games? Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Among all recreational activities, playing video games can be considered one of the most renowned entertainments for children. Nevertheless, it is controversial between parents that besides advantages, video games do have some certain drawbacks. From my perspective, I regard video games as more harmful rather than helpful.

The most fundamental reason to support my opinion is that computer games affect children's health detrimentally. As we all know, children's eyes are directly exposed to the screen as they are playing games on a computer or through television. Hence, their eyesight may be harmed immensely if they keep playing for a long time. In fact, about the topic of people having bad eyesight from a young age, there is much research proving that computer games are of the most common causes.

Another obvious disadvantage of video games is that they are addictive, especially for those under adult age. As computer games are extremely fun and competitive, children can easily be attracted by them. Therefore, they tend to skip other necessary activities like going out with friends, doing homework or even communicating with their family. For example, a kid with a great sense of competition can spend hours and hours playing Fortnite to have better gaming skills, then beat his or her friends in the game. This way, not only children's communication ability but also their mental health is affected severely.

For the aforementioned reasons, I am strongly against the idea of supporting children playing computer games at their young age as it could harm both their physical and psychological health, thus, influence their development badly.