Given the high unemployment rate, it is recommended that the government only provide primary education and no secondary education. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

education is a basic human right which every child should be given opportunity to access regardless of their socio-economic status or country of origin. Limiting children to certain level of education based upon their background has been generating a lot of controversial arguments lately. While some people argue that pupils from low income nations should not be allowed to further their studies up to the secondary level, others are of the opinion that their status should not be used as a yardstick to deny these children of this basic right. I totally disagree with the view that children should be denied of such an opportunity.

Firstly, children are the future of a nation, it is the quality of education that they receive today that would predict the growth of the country in few years to come. The reason is not far fetched, many people who have become professionals came to be as a result of the advanced level of education they received. For instance, sciences which are thought in school forms the basis for technological know hows and innovations which we use in modern day to day activities to make life easier and better for us.

In addition, secondary education is a stepping stone for tertiary levels. A pupil who has passed through both processes can become an entrepreneur in future and create massive job opportunities for others, thereby solving the problem of unemployment in their country. An example of this can be found in people that are working for themselves or even working remotely and offering services to people at a cost.

To sum it up, I believe it is totally wrong and biased to deny children the right to advance in their career as such could kill potential talents.