Giving detailed descriptions of crime by newspaper and television, someone says it could make bad consequence, this kind of media should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that news about crimes appearing on tabloid and television might result in bad repercussions and people should put more restriction on this kind of content. From my perspective, I somewhat disagree with this opinion.

The first reason why I don’t agree with this sentiment is because the description of criminal wrongs in the media can act as a deterrent for other people who are inclined to be in the wrong. Perhaps the primary reason is that the fear of emerging on TV as a prisoner having terrible criminal acts would compel individuals with intentions to commit serious offenses to reconsider their act as these people don’t want to be isolated and ignored from their own family or children.

Additionally, I also believe the detailed images and videos of crime would become a valuable source for the film-making industy. For instance, Hope is one of the most successful criminal psychology movies in the Korean film history thanks to the support from realistic documents on TV about the case which was the original inspiration of this film. As a result, this film cultivated a lot profits and contributed significantly to the Korean movie industry.

However, there are some less-than-desire consequences that this kind of media might bring. One such possibility is that this content will impact negatively on children’s awareness. The reason is that almost all children don’t have sufficient intellectual capacity and from this, they might be easily obsessed by those images, creating bad effects on children’s academic performance. Consequently, they might become juvenile delinquents.

In conclusion, I somewhat disagree that detailed report of crime should be limted . This is mainly because these are considered to be a caution for people and they also have significant devotion to the film industry. Yet, this content might harmfully impact children in terms of their wellbeing.