Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solution is there to this problem?

The natural environment has been threatened seriously by the detrimental impacts of the global warming tendency. This phenomenon mainly caused by vast energy generations that consume fossil fuels and emit a huge amount of greenhouse gases. However, finding alternative methods for energy creations can be an ideal solution given that it can be implemented worldwide.

On the one hand, rising temperatures on the global scale certainly is a consequence of conventional ways to create electricity. While energy generation plays a major part in reducing reserves of fossil fuels such as oil and coal on the planet, significant CO2 and NO2 emissions have been produced by electricity production. As an illustration, environmentalists emphasised that via burning fossil fuels to make electricity, CO2 emitted from power stations leads to (an increase in temperatures) increasing the temperature by 3 degree Celsius over the past two decades. Therefore, this increased heat has affected considerably on glacier melting and put various animals such as marine mammals and wild birds in danger.

Hence, global warming can be alleviated by changing electricity generation systems. The first step is alternating sources of input energy. The most effective and eco-friendly ones are wind and solar power which supply the cheapest and cleanest energy. In fact, they are not only huge substitutes for fossil fuel due to unlimited supplies, but they are also demonstrated to diminish 80% amount of GHG emission. Secondly, traditional electricity generating mechanisms can be benefited by advanced technologies to increase productivity and cut down pollutant emission. For example, more than 500 power stations in the UK has applied a technology called Recycled Circles to reduce 40% of waste material and the zero-carbon target has been achieved.

In conclusion, it is clear that our environment these days has been damaged noticeably as a result of global warming. Because this problem is caused by current electricity generation systems, the best solution is that green energies and progressive technologies ought to be employed comprehensively in these energy-making processes.