The government and individuals are spending too much money on national celebrations like new year or festivals. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that both the government and individuals themselves have been wasting a huge amount of money on organizing national events, namely new year or festivals. In my opinion, i partly concur with this notion.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why celebrating events having the scope of a country should be invested. Firstly, organizing those festivals could be synonymous with constructing an utopia. Specifically, an ideal society exists in a place, where all its inhabitants have joys and feel chirpy with their lives. It is undeniable that vibrant parties can make people cheery and have a motivation to concentrate on their works after the events. Secondly, the national celebrations could become one of tourist attractions, which could benefit the economy of countries immensely. For instance, the 50th anniversary of National Day of Singapore attracted a host of travelers, the celebrations lasted for a month and brought a huge amount of foreign currency for the country.

On the other hand, the government should take into consideration to spend too much national budget on the celebrations. The fact is that apart from parties, there are many fields which need the investment of the government. Public facilities is a case in a point. They play a fundamental role in residents’ lives since citizens have to use them on a daily basis, therefore, the government should allocate funding on them. Additionally, in lieu of spending much on amusement, the authority would subsidize people residing in poor condition to enhance the quality of their lives to some extent.

In conclusion, i hang onto a notion that celebrating national could have manifold positive impacts on people’s lives, however, spending a great deal of money on those is unnecessary.