Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. There are better ways how to spend those money instead. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, mankind is mostly surrounded by technology, machines and so-called artificial intelligence, however, humans should not forget about arts as connection with nature and creativity everyone is capable of. Nevertheless, some people think that governments spend too much financial resources on art and those could be in better use elsewhere.

Although, I believe, art as need of modern society is important, there are more significant areas the government should invest in. One of them is education, because through well-educated individuals the entire society may be improved. For example rise of awareness of environmental issues such as recycling policy, could be the first step. Another area significant part of governments budged shall be use for is infrastructure in cities. Again, in terms of environmental friendly solutions, cyclo paths would be beneficial. This can eventually decrease level of pollution in big cities and improve health of citizens in them. Therefore I believe, this is more important than any art-related needs modern society may have.

Finally, the main area states should be investing money in are social services. All of us are aware of elderly carehomes funding problems. Eldest citizens who simply can not afford to pay for care they need from their pensions, are often sponsored by their families, who could spend this resources in better way, for example by investing to their children´s education. Thus, I believe, the government should be responsible for paying such a service, as most of its residents were taxpayers throughout their life.

As I discussed, although perceiving arts as significant part of our lives, I think there are many bigger issues government shall invest to, in the first place.