GOVERNMENT INVESTMENT IN ARTS, SUCH AS MUSIC AND THEATRE, IS A WASTE OF MONEY. GOVERNMENTS MUST INVEST THIS MONEY IN PUBLIC SERVICES INSTEAD.

It has been a common practice that artists get financial support due to the small earnings. Thus, I disagree to cut of the fund, instead, it should be increased regarding the importance of art in people’s life and its identity of countries’ culture.

Firstly, many people enjoy art as a primary need. Art is believed to encourage happiness for the enjoyer, no matter what kind of art it is, music, paint, theater, movie and others. People who like to listen to music or take a break for painting tend to have a low percentage for worrying their life. It is believed that enjoying art activate the sense of humor in brain and release happiness, because of it, everyone should support art.

Secondly, art is the biggest part of most countries’ culture. It can be denied that culture is an identity of one’s country so as the art. Country which lose their art means for the extinction of the culture. My country, Indonesia, has faced an ‘art rage’ with its neighbor, Malaysia, where its arts claimed by Malaysia as theirs and have gotten patent for it. I think it is my country which did not put an effort to manage the art while the neighbor attracted to art very much as a culture.

To sum up, it is crucial to support the artwork and the worker nationally because of its essential value and have become an identity for some nationalities. Thus, it is a must to agree for the financial support.