The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Over the years, every government have been doing more and more for people. Although I agree that this is important to spend money on public services, I do not find investing in arts less necessary.

To begin with, disbursing money on public service have some evident reasons such as the fact that people cannot exist without it. Hospitals and schools are the most inalienable part of people’s life due to determining the quality of life that occurs precisely through such concepts. For example, if a country stop spending money on keeping citizens alive, the government will cease to be advanced and will lose many lives. Hence, expanding knowledge and preserving the lives of our people is an obligation that they provide by investing in these institutions.

However, cultural development of people cannot be excluded from this list. In our time, people have become less kind, responsive and intellectually progressive because many people are simply not interested in going to theaters and museums which is why many moral foundations have been lost. Our century has already advanced awfully and no longer possible to satisfy only the lowest needs. Everyone needs to understand that being educated in different areas is a salient point due to being engrossing is an unchallengeable for communication with others. For instance, if the state thinks only about physical needs, everyone will become like robots without strong differences from each other inside. Thus, the government should be a friend to its people and provide an opportunity to love theaters, arts and music.

Taking everything into consideration, financing in public services or entertainment is not mutually exclusive things. To my mind, every country must ensure that the person is healthy and intellectually developed.