The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is often argued that arts, music and theatre are not as worthy of govenrment’s investment as public services. Although, I agree that all forms of art play an important role in our society and that government should finance arts sector edaquately, I believe public services are vital and indispensable to citizens of a country and deserve a sigificant part of government’s budget.

On one hand, arts, music and theater are not a waste of money since they help preserve information about a country in an effective and interesting way. Arts sector carries an enormous amount of knowledge through paintings, songs, movies which greatly interest people. Take Women museum in Hanoi – Vietnam as an example. A corner in the museum displays tools used by Vietnamese women to dig the tunnel where Viet Cong hid themselves from American soldiers during the War. By visiting the museum, people easily learn about the spirit of Vietnamese’s women which may be pourly represented in regular history classes.

On the other hand, public services should definite be prioritized by government because these services determine the overall quality of life. While people can still live comfortably without wandering around a museum, public services including schools, healthcare,etc. are needed by everyone regardless their income or social status. If a country allocates a large part of its budget on improving healthcare system, infrastructure,etc it will lead to a better living standard. For example, Da Nang, a city in the central of Vietnam, is voted the best city to live as the city provides modern hospitals, pretigious schools, etc while Hoi An city, 30 km away, is not on the list because of poor healthcare service eventhough it attracts an anormous amount of visitors every year.

In conclusion, I believe that arts in all types should be funded properly as they store cultural and historical values of a society, public service sector, however, should be the major concern of a country owing to its ultimate necessity.