Government should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice. Other argue that is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The idea that the nutritional value in dishes and people choices about food should be imposed laws by the state should remain a source of controversy. While a number of people believe that it is beneficial to some extent, I would argue that these laws are not reasonable and practical.

On the one hand, there are some advantages related to making regulations about inhabitants' nutrition and choice of food. Firstly, it would be the ideal measure to protect citizens' health from various diseases such as cardiovascular diseases or obesity, or diabetes. This is due to the fact that these laws force citizens to opt for food that is fresh and good for their health in order to reduce the risk of these chronic diseases. For example, they are more likely to choose more green vegetables, more fishes, and less meat. As a result, this would alleviate the cost of drugs that have been prescribed to treat these illnesses which means people would be healthier thanks to the laws.

On the other hand, I would contend that these rules are disadvantageous to residents. Individuals have their own right to choose food that they are passionate about. When the authority puts rules and laws about food choice, people feel obligated to purchase foodstuffs that do not fit their appetite. That could lead to some discontent among citizens. Furthermore, it would be hard for the young generation to obey rules about nutrition because they are not mature enough to defeat their temptation with surgery food or fast food. Besides, some people have not sufficient knowledge about nutrition to decide which substances their bodies are demanding.

In conclusion, while others agree that the authority had better make laws about choosing nutritional food, it seems to me that these rules would make people feel compulsory and unhappy.