Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times one of the most debated issues relates to development of transportation. Some people assert that the government ought to allocate more of their budget to rail rather than roadways. However, I strongly believe that both roads and railways are equally important and the government should spend an equal amount of money on both types of infrastructures.

Bolstering my view, I would like to highlight reasons as follow. Firstly, it is obvious that when a country has an extensive rail network, it will positively affect the logistic cost. As a result, the selling price of a product would be cheaper as a single-vehicle could carry tonnes of goods. Secondly, the development of rail networks would reduce traffic congestion. Nowadays, there are a large number of vehicles on roads, so there is always a problem with traffic congestion. Trains can carry hundreds of passengers and this prevents the use of vehicles, thus reducing the traffic on roads. For Instance, with the help of the central government, Ahmedabad will soon start its first metro rail service and this is likely to reduce the use of cars and motorbikes on the road.

However, it is not cost-effective to develop rail infrastructure in small villages, while building roads can prove cost-efficient in such places. Furthermore, there are delays, changes or cancellation in train timetables and people who totally depend on railways become helpless as they cannot reach their places in time. In this situation, they could use their personal vehicles or public transport. For Instance, in India, when most of the trains are delayed in the rainy season, people generally use their vehicles or hire an auto-rickshaw as a mode of transportation to reach their places.

To put in a nutshell, I pen down saying that the government should maintain an equal balance in their budget for both railways and roads as both are equally important.