Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Developing transportation is an essential policy of all countries to promote the economy and connect different regions together. However, some people believe that more money should be invested in railways rather than roads. This statement is somehow reasonable, but in my opinion, road development will play an important role in tandem with the railways.

The investment in railways should be a crucial strategy, which will bring a lot of benefits for both society and the economy. There are many reasons which account for this idea, firstly, the national railways can connect every area within a country easier than highways, which partly depend on the geographical structure. In addition, the number of commodities, as well as passengers conveyed by train is larger, the speed and the guarantee are also higher because of using separate ways. If the government spurs the development of the railway, less of the budget will be allocated for construction.

In contrast to that idea, paralleling the means of train delivery, constructing highways has a special role. Traveling on the road is more convenient for short distances, especially the highway which can link the rural with urban better than railways. Moreover, in emergencies, for example, the plane can not land at the right airport, highways become an alternative line for landing. For some reason, people can build higher roads with the aim of avoiding isolation during the rainy season, when floods come.

In conclusion, promoting both railways and roads will bring more than double-positive effects on society improvement, therefore, we would better balance the investment on those kinds of transportation.