Government should support prevention of the disease and lifestyle change rather than treatment of those who are ill.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is important to consider how the government spent its resources. While others believe that it should fund the treatment of a disease, I argue with the opinion of others that most of the spending should be pour in disease prevention and healthy lifestyle.

To begin with, the government’s support in the prevention of an illness will benefit all people in the society. It will be best for the authorities to spend money on a health awareness programs that will encourage the people to live healthily and empowers them to participate in the community programs that will be focus on how to avoid certain chronic disease. For example, a recent health campaign in the United Kingdom entitled “A fruit in a day” reduced the growth of the people suffering from Diabetes by approximately 10%. This is a clear evidence that the government can effectively prohibit the occurrence of a disease by merely implementing an efficient program.

Furthermore, the cost of preventing a disease will provide less strain to the government expenditure. This is due to the fact that the treatment of a disease can cost as much as five times compared to the advertising campaign for its prevention. For instance, a recent study on the state budget of Queensland Australia in 2015 proved that the ratio of expenses on hospital treatment versus awareness campaign is nearly 4:1. This shows that the government can allocate more funds to other social services if they can save more money through health awareness programs.

In conclusion, although the government should maintain the health of its people, I believe that it is a better option if most of the fund allocation for health will be directed to an awareness program. It is recommended that this should be taken seriously to avoid a future damaging effect of people’s wellness.