Transportation plays a crucial role in national economic development. By a smooth flow of delivery, the products can come to customers quickly and effectively. There are some modes of transport. Recently, there is a question that whether governments should lessen the investment on roads to spend on railways instead. There are some matters if they actually do that as below.

By the time, road has been considered as the most flexible and convenient route with reasonable price. It can easily be imagined by the successive enormous amount of vehicles moving from place to place on the roads every day. Motorbikes, cars, trucks are that most common means of transport of residents and everyone who wants to go outside needs to use the road. Meanwhile, there are not so many railways routes in the world, which means it is not a popular mode of transport compared to roads. This is understandable because of its long waiting and transporting time. The average speed is very slow along with the fact that not everybody owns the rail, which means after getting tickets, passengers have to wait until departure time and it also takes ages to arrive destinations. In businesses, we rarely see shippers choose railways as a mere route, except for big numbers of cargo or having multimodal transport.

So should governments spend on railways. Although railways have fewer advantages in general, it must depend on the strategy of each country and geographical factors to make decision. In case some nations are willing to expand the railways routes and it is in appropriate positions to invest, they can completely pour budget into their projects.

In conclusion, the choice could be able to make in according to thecharacteristics of each mode of transport or the nation objectives.