Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Government should invest on new railways rather than build new roads. I strongly agree.

To begin with, Railways have fewer impacts on environment than roads. For instance, if a train work with its full capacity, it would consume less energy than cars for each passenger. With this in mind, encouraging people to substitute using roads with trains would have long-term effects especially on environment.

Secondly, Railways have higher rate of safety than roads. Trains move on specific railway and all of them are monitored by experts which means that the probability of crashing two trains is almost zero. On the other side, crashing two cars is inevitable and the large number of people die on roads every day. In fact, roads increase the medical care expenditures and charge government more than trains.

Lastly, people can easily do their daily routines when they are in a train. It is undoubtedly a very important feature. Reading books, sleeping, playing games and doing job remotely, for example, are all advantages that make people choose traveling by train. They can also walk along the corridors and prevent to get backache.

In conclusion, train has many advantages which outweigh road’s benefits. Governments should encourage people to use railway mode by virtue of invest money on its infrastructures and decrease the price of its tickets. Government also would be benefited from that. If Government puts railways first in its priorities, it does not need to spend much money to mitigate environmental issues or accommodate medical care for people who are injured in car accidents.