Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads .

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

With an increase in the population , the need for an effective transportation network has arised. It is often debated by some that governments should spend their funds on building railways rather than extending network of roads .While building roads can solve the traffic problem to some extent , I however, agree with the above argument because railway systems are more efficient.

People who are against spending on railways might argue that it is better to spend on already present roads than constructing new rail tracks and that by expanding roads , the large metropolitans can easily manage large amount of cars. As an illustration, Karachi, largest city of Pakistan has network of highways which manages traffic, without having a rail system. However, this essay believes otherwise and is in favour of spending on railways as large proportion of people don’t have cars.

Investing on railways should be the priority of governments because they are very productive . Trains , on one hand, has the capacity to transport thousands of people in a very less cost and on the other hand, will decrease the dependence on cars, and hence the burden on roads will fall. It is exemplified by the tube system in Portland which is estimated to carry 1 million passengers a month, which are more than any highway in the city And has also helped to manage traffic as more people are opting for train tavel rather than taking their cars.

In conclusion, although roads make an integral part of the transportation system , governments should allocate more funds for construction of railway networks because they are more productive and can manage the heavy traffic better.