Railways and roads are two important components of the modern transport system. While some people argue that governments should provide financial support for railways rather than roads, I believe that both deserve attention from governments.

On the one hand, railways are more useful for cities that rely heavily on tourism or labor export. First, railways are more efficient than roads in terms of long-haul travel because there is no traffic congestion on the rails. This means that visitors can come to these cities more comfortably by train, instead of driving by themselves on the roads. Similarly, the residents of the city can go to major cities to work more efficiently. As a result, spending money on railways is more likely to boost the local economy of such cities. Moreover, maintaining a few primary railways is often cheaper than roads, which needs more frequent repair due to the traffic.

On the other hand, roads still play a key road in urban transport inside the city. Without enough roads, traffic congestion is more likely to happen, causing problems for people who commute to work or school. In addition, although the railway is capable to transport people from distant places to the city, it cannot help them with urban transport. People still need to take a car or a bus to go to their final destinations from the train station. Moreover, the railway is only suitable for major transport, it is economically and physically impossible to build numerous railways to fulfill people's need for transport. Therefore, this problem should be addressed by road construction.

To conclude, while railways have some advantages on long-haul transport, it cannot replace the roads. In my opinion, they are both important parts of the transport system and governments should not spend money on railways rather than roads.